30-Day Fitness Challenges App

Would you pay $2.99 for an exercise app that does pretty much what you can do on your own? Most people wouldn’t. I, however, did.

Why?

Because there are times I need more motivation and more reminders than what I can provide for myself. I’m also a sucker for new things.

There are not many days that go by where I do not find myself on the iPad at least once for a brief amount of time.

My writing and reading are flourishing but my fitness has been left behind in the dust. I have more motivation to sit on my butt and use my brain (or lack thereof on some days) than make my muscles burn.

So I bought the app thinking I would do one challenge at a time. It’s from the same people who keep up the 30-Day Challenge website. The app has a variety of 30-day challenges you can put yourself through and gives directions on how to do every exercise. It keeps track of your days, times for those timed challenges, gives you trophies when you complete challenges, allows you to share your progress online, and you can set it up to remind you to do the exercises at any time of the day. It seems you only need the internet if you want to share your progress and update your profile.

If you’d rather not pay money, the website – 30 Day Fitness Challenges – has every challenge the app has for free. The only differences are that you do everything yourself and your trophies are the results you get from your own hard work.

Is the app worth the $2.99?

Not if you don’t need it. But if you’re like me and you enjoy that added bit of technology and motivation that comes from apps then you might like this one. At $2.99 it’s not exactly a bank breaker after all.

Right now I’ve finished Day 11 for Plank, Day 2 for Easy Push-Up, and Day 2 for Butt.

Plank – steadily increasing holding time in plank position. 1st day you hold it for 20sec. By day 30 you’re holding it for 300sec. Right now I’m up to 60sec. I’ve never been a lover of planks and my core has always been weak so being able to do 60sec is an amazing feat for me!

Easy Push-Up – steadily increasing number of push-ups. 1st day you start with 3 push-ups. These are full push-ups – on your toes. By day 30 you’re up to 20 push-ups. It’s difficult. I had to give up on my last arms challenge from another site because my shoulders couldn’t take it. But the reps few and I’m doing well so far. But, yes, after having done the plank challenge beforehand and then 4 of these push-ups…I grunted. I’m weak. But also proud that I can do 4 respectable full push-ups.

Butt – 3 exercises in this one. Day 1 starts with 5 Bridges, 10 Lunges, and 15 Squats. Day 30 ends with 60 Bridges, 70 Lunges, and 90 Squats. I believe this will actually be pretty easy considering I previously attempted the Lunges and Easy Squat challenges over a month ago. The lunges were awesome and I did well. The squats I had to quit because my hip flexors were screaming at me after a while. Limping and nasty pain followed.

This will be different though because by Day 30 I’ll be up to 90 squats as opposed to Day 8 or something on the Easy Squat challenge.

Do you prefer to have apps “help” you along with exercise or do you like to do it all yourself?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on April 27, 2014, in Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

