How to prepare for a 5k

For some reason, though my desire to exercise remains the same in Winter, my desire to run decreases. This isn’t because the weather is too nasty and cold to run outside – I’m not a huge outside runner for various reasons. I enjoy it but I don’t do it as often as I probably should.

I’ve lost a lot of speed over the winter from being running lazy. Despite having regained a lot of it, I’m still slower than I was at the beginning of Fall.

I kept telling myself I’d train for real for my next 5k to get that speed back. I mean, I had completed a goal and managed to consistently run 3.1 miles in under 35 minutes before winter hit.

But suddenly the 5k I’m aiming for is right around the corner and I haven’t even gotten back into the habit of running regularly! Where did the time go? How did this race creep up on me?

I have until May 3rd to get ready for the Apple Blossom Run. It seems a little late to start formally training now.

Of course, the first ¾ mile is downhill so that’s helpful.

Well, maybe I’ll surprise myself like I did last time I participated in this race. I guess the only thing I can do is cross-train, strength train, and perhaps speed-train. Intervals would probably be most effective at this point.

Oh yeah! And update my playlist! Woo! My favorite part!

How%20to%20Run%20Your%20Best%205k%20Ever%20[Infographic]

For those out there who’ve planned better than I have, here’s a 5-week 5k training plan from SparkPeople.com that’ll get you over the finish line without dying.

(On a side note, this is the plan I used to train for my first 5k some years ago.)

Sparkpeople 5k Light Jog

If this one isn’t for you, they have easier and harder plans available so don’t toss the site aside because this plan isn’t suited for you.

And for those who have done at least one 5k and are now looking for a PR, here’s a training plan from Fitness Magazine that might be helpful. Likewise, they have other great plans available so you might consider giving them a look. Go to Fitness Magazine for further instructions on what they consider an “easy run,” “surges,” etc.

Fitness Mag fastest 5k

At Fitness Magazine you do need to register with the site to get training plans but it’s free and easy to do while at SparkPeople you don’t need to register at all.

And remember! …

9bd59ff0498ee503d7dd1cd8bccac12f

What’s your favorite kind of race? What’s your favorite kind of challenge?

*DISCLAIMER: I’m not responsible for injuries that occur while trying exercises/routines found on my blog. Always consult your doctor before trying new exercises and always listen to your body. If you feel pain, stop. Unless you’re in the Olympics and are about to win a gold medal or you’re going to save someone’s life, injuries aren’t worth it.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on April 20, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good luck! I have the same relationship with running as you. Thanks for all the tips! 🙂

  2. You’re welcome! Good luck with your running! 😀

Leave a Reply

