Spring Break

My son had spring break last week and the weather was supposed to be bad in Seattle for our planned weekend trip so we ran off in the middle of the week to have fun.

There was a case of bad driving judgment one day in downtown Seattle and another case of a demon truck driver sent to kill us in the mountains on the way home, but overall it was fun.

My new bra came in after we got back and just in time! I was down to 2 old bras and both were too big. The underwire on my best one broke and jutted out of the fabric in an attempt to skewer me in the ribs. So much for that. I could’ve tried to take out the wire but I tried that on a previous bra that went into the trash some months ago. It didn’t work.

So I try on my new bra…only to find that it’s really tight because I’m super bloated from all the chocolate chip cookies, goldfish, and wraps I’ve gorged on since my parents left.

2bd379f4da0262169f16120476bd4026

I’m shedding water now but I can see that it’s no longer only water I need to shed. Yuck. I had been hoping the added weight wasn’t real – that it was retained water. Some of it was but some of it wasn’t.

Oh well. This bra will serve as a reminder whenever I open the pantry for a snack and reach for the cookies or for the goldfish.

Luckily the last time I had goldfish they didn’t have their cheesy goodness taste so I no longer want to eat them by the shovel-full.

My son’s new shoes came in as well. We didn’t like our pick from what was in town so we ordered from REI.

What? So expensive!

Nah, not really. They were on sale and my husband had his rebate so it wasn’t bad. In fact, compared to our town options, it was cheaper.

A couple days later we went on a hike and consecrated them in dust and dirt. For the first time we made it to the top of Saddlerock Trail. I don’t know if one could call it a mountain or if it’s technically a hill. My son has never been able to reach the top before so we were very happy to finish the hike this time.

It took 50 minutes to hike up the trail and 35 minutes to get back down. A 4-year-old’s pace is not the fastest. But that’s fine. I had agreed to the hike for healthy family outside time, not exercise. Boy was my butt burning sometimes though! There are some steep places.

I found out after sliding a couple times in one section on the way down that my everyday shoes are nearly flat on the bottom where the balls of my feet are – I wear them every day to exercise (when I’m not running) and I tend to be on my toes for the most part.

Time to get the hiking boots out again!

What outdoor activities do you enjoy doing?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on April 6, 2014, in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

