Why Planks and How to Hold Them Longer

c26c9589ed3379a2c01bbed084948cbe

In the beginning I used to think holding a plank sucked beyond belief. How can anyone hold a plank for more than 10 seconds? It’s impossible! ARGH! My belly!

Depending on the kind of plank I’m holding (on knees, on hands, on elbows), I can hold it for a long time with little effort or I can start shaking after about 25 seconds.

It doesn’t seem to matter how long I can hold it without dipping, I always start shaking early on.

But why do a plank at all? If you hate it so much, why not do other core moves? They’re just as useful, right?

Yeah, other moves are useful but planks can blind people with their awesomeness. They work the muscles hiding deep within our core which a crunch can’t boast. Planks also recruit more muscle groups all at once so you’re getting, for example, a shoulder workout along with your entire abdominal section.

ae729d5622f6716d46b506fac762f147

Here are a bunch of different kinds of planks you can do. Try them, see how you like them. Mix them up and have fun with them.

Don’t forget that you can always modify them by going down on your knees. Shoulders or wrists hurt? Move to your elbows. There are lots of ways to modify so no one really has an excuse not to do them. Unless they just despise them.

12a51babe3457a28c7650f7c79022eb6

What’s your favorite way to do a plank?

*DISCLAIMER: I’m not responsible for any injuries sustained while trying exercises/routines on my blog. Always consult your doctor before trying any new exercise. Always listen to your body and stop when you feel pain. Injuries are much harder to get through than continuing fitness/health goals.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on March 30, 2014, in Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great post. I’m going to try a few moves later. Bx

Leave a Reply

