How to limber up after sitting in the car for a long time

Ever taken a road trip before and you stop at a rest stop or something, get out of the car and discover you’re all kinky and stiff (not in a sexual sense) from sitting for so long?

I’ve taken loads of road trips in my lifetime (much to my eternal boredom because I get car sick and can only listen to music or sleep to pass the time…or drive now actually except my husband prefers to do the driving because he thinks I get bad gas mileage) and every time I get out of the car, I have to stretch. I look at everyone else coming out of their various vehicles – stretching, yawning, etc.

5d8721414d0cd15c7c57ecfa2003d4c2

What happens to me physically when I sit in the car too long?

  • my knees and ankles start to lock up
  • my back gets sore
  • whole body gets stiff

What happens when I get out of the car?

  • Snap, Crackle, Pop, Rice Crispies!

Most yoga stretches I found seemed to rely on lying on the ground but I found that super nasty. But this video gave bunches of poses/stretches to do that keep you from getting dirty.

This guy is super flexible – way more than I am. But while I may not be able to bring my legs straight up like he does in the beginning, I can do it outside the car on a bench or something.

And some more of the same if you have a sturdy pole/fence around…

1aff00c5a983c9d8717a55841f97328b

How do you keep limber during a trip?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on March 27, 2014, in Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

