Tips for Running

Am I a runner? Sometimes I think yes, sometimes I think no.

Times when I think yes:

  • When I’m running
  • When I’m training for a race
  • When I’m wearing my awesome running shoes

Times when I think no:

  • When I’m not running

It started out as way for me to lose weight but, when I stopped pushing myself to the puking point every time and started taking it easy, I started to enjoy it. It took a really long time and I swore after my first 5k that I would never put myself through that hell ever again. I thought, “Running is good exercise but I am definitely not a runner because I never want to do this again.”

About a week later I was back on the treadmill and planning for my next race.

For me, running is relaxing, energizing, and therapeutic. That sounds contrary, I know. How can it be relaxing and energizing when I push myself to sprint at times and to run until I literally feel as if I’m going to puke? Afterwards I’m exhausted and that can last the whole day if I’ve pushed myself hard enough. But it makes me feel GOOD!

b967a646623f50b290d60cedf6e0b47a

Zumba and running. Two things I cannot live without.

0948de7b9a097076538f2545295c9695

After awhile I asked an experienced runner friend (who also happened to be a personal trainer at my gym) to judge my running form while I was on the treadmill.

Things I was fine with by that point:

  • Loose fists
  • Straight back
  • Relaxed shoulders (had to consciously work on that one)
  • Butt in

Biggest problem:

  • Legs crossing in front of each other

Oops! Very bad. Given enough time that would wreak havoc with my knees and they’ve already experienced enough damage from my childhood.

She ran a half marathon some months later and eventually had to go to the doctor to see what was going on with her legs. I forget what it was but the doctor told her she needed to change her running form to land on the balls of her feet instead of her heels (or thereabouts).

7192f4cda57344eaeac1f5c3f276d31d

It seemed like a good idea considering my own knees so I endeavored to learn toe running. It was a lot harder for her than for me. This could be due to my habit of walking on my toes as a kid. Being on my toes comes naturally to me. After awhile my calves kill and I can only last about 5k before my calves are too tired to continue but it’s becoming less and less of a problem.

e410b606732d48a618ded7c45610ad46

Finally, here are some good rules to remember when you run so you don’t get frustrated with your progress or speed and so you don’t get injured.

ba0270e5d3e0069437cf667f40a85744

Do you like to run? Why? Do you do races?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on March 25, 2014, in Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is a great post. Congrats on taking up running and making it a part of your life. Running is definitely a part of mine. I do races from time to time. I find they can be great motivators.

    • Thanks! Yeah, I love races though I can’t do them very often. My son sees me race and always begs to race with me. In fact, he’s been known to take off after the runners if no one is holding on to him. He’s not yet 5 though and begs to be carried after walking and running a mile. hehehe

Leave a Reply

