Challenges Update

I don’t know how I’ve managed to keep up with the challenges I assigned myself. Each day I’ve felt like I couldn’t possibly do more than was scheduled for that day. But then the next day I have to do even more and, somehow, I manage it.

In the case of the squats, I thought my legs would fall off at 60 squats. The next day I had to do 90! Impossible! I’m struggling at 60 and they want me to do 90??

But I did it. I broke it up into increments of 30. 30 squats and I rest for about 10 seconds while I shake my legs out. Another 30 and I rest for about 20 seconds. I thought my legs would fall off by the time I reached 90 but it was doable. I think I could have even kept on but I was super glad to stop.

04e1c228d2692113075eef21e84d8886

Unfortunately (or fortunately, I don’t know), my new group ex instructor saw me and, given that I could reach 90 degrees with my squats, suggested I try a deep one that has my butt nearly touching the floor.

fc9e347d8318692dad5c75365069a9dd

“Oh I can’t do that,” I assured her with a laugh and a shake of my head. “My hip flexors aren’t nearly strong enough for that.”

She gave me a look that I’ve seen time and again when I say “can’t.” It means, “How do you know if you haven’t tried it? I will, however, keep my peace.”

So I had her show me the form again so I didn’t accidentally hurt my knees. It was the same as my regular squat form – legs about hip width apart, toes pointed off to the sides a bit.

DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWN I went!

And almost couldn’t get back up. I joked that it might be fun to just walk around like that, kind of like a duck. If I had used my arms as legs, I might’ve resembled a frog.

ca5250b02e41d6d2894311a71d80d3c1

Same thing is happening with the sit ups. I’m up to 45 reps and I really don’t know how I even made it to 20. It’s true, I have to “cheat” and extend my arms in front of me but I’m doing it! I can do about 15 with my arms crossed on my chest. When I do them I try to think about anything other than what I’m doing. When I think about my gut I find I can’t get more than my shoulders off the floor.

How I’m going to finish 125 sit ups in one session on the last day is beyond me. Lunges perhaps, but sit ups? Oh my…

The lunge challenge is by far the easiest. No matter how much my legs seem to burn each time, I find I can easily manage the next day.

The arms? Well, that’s somewhere between the squats and the abs – I grit my teeth and bear it…somehow.

How many sit-ups and squats can you do?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on March 23, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

