Ways To Challenge Myself

My parents are visiting these days so I’ve had to change my gym schedule. This might have caused difficulties in the past but not anymore. It’s been true I’ve neglected my cardio despite having various plans that don’t require any equipment whatsoever as well as a number of DVDs. But I haven’t neglected my strength training.

In fact, the other day while searching through Pinterest I stumbled upon a 30-Day Arm Challenge. Oo! A challenge! 2 sets of only 5 push-ups, a 15s plank, and 5 chair dips? No problem!

The amount of each changes daily and each morning I wake up eager to tackle the latest increase. If you want to see more challenges like this Arm Challenge, visit shrinkingjeans.net

7eee7c7fe4b6510beea39534faddcd37

But that’s not the only challenge I found. Next I came across a 30-Day Easy Squat Challenge. Oo! I’m good at squats. I’ll take that challenge!

Squat challenge

These first few days it’s comforting to know that I can actually do that many squats. When I think back to when I first started exercising and struggled to do a mere 10 squats, I’m quite proud of myself.

Most of the core challenges I found only had crunches or planks and that’s not very helpful. I mean, they’re great (especially the planks) but I’d get so bored doing only one kind of move the whole time. I have a feeling I’m going to get bored doing a million squats too but I’m hoping my butt looks awesome by the end so I’m okay with the monotony (at least for now anyway).

370f3c33eb84e7056687a9a0f0ea9705

I looked at this ab challenge and thought it would be too hard because of the sit ups, but the first day I buckled down and cranked out those 15 sit ups. I was shocked at how easy it was! All I could think was when I was in middle school and couldn’t even do 1 sit up. I’ve come so far since my couch potato childhood.

The last challenge I added is the 30 Day Lunge Challenge. Boring to do only lunges, true, but they’re also so great for the butt and thighs.

3e82267166ade62fd550c8a5ade9728c

I wish I could say that 20 lunges means 10 lunges with each leg but I doubt that’s what the creator of this challenge intended. Unfortunately. My legs are still really sore from my own lunge-heavy workout from several days ago but I cranked out 20 lunges with each leg that first day and felt all the greater for it.

For more challenges like the above 3 (squats, abs, lunges), visit www.30dayfitnesschallenges.com

My butt really aches now. My legs feel stronger, more muscular, as do my arms. My core feels fat but that’s because my parents are visiting and my diet always goes down the poop-shoot when I’m with them. Purely my own fault. I need to stop neglecting my cardio so I don’t feel/look so much like a chubby bunny. More like Garfield the cat actually.

What kind of challenge would you be most likely to try?

*Disclaimer: I’m not responsible for any injuries sustained while trying any routines/moves from my blog. Always consult your doctor before trying new exercises and always listen to your body. If you feel pain, it’s your body telling you to stop.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on March 16, 2014, in Fitness, Monthly Challenge, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

