Back Pain = Extreme Boredom

With a perfectly good excuse to stay home and do nothing, you’d think I’d be happy and content to relax in my recliner watching movies. Sitting at a desk hurt my back after a short amount of time. Walking hurt a bit. Lying down felt fine…usually. After a mere two days, however, I was bored out of my mind.

I did some hip/butt/thigh work while waiting for the school bus with my son. Nothing big, just some standing work.

  • Glute Raises – 15r 2x
  • Hip Adductions – 15r 2x
  • Hip Abductions – 15r 2x

Not a big deal. But I want to work my core and I want to do heavy squats to unflatten my butt.

Core Circuit Flat Butt Be Gone!

The reason I started exercising was to have a couple hours away from my son and get out of the house; it helped his social skills as well (he was sorely lacking). But that ceased to be a real reason a long time ago. Now I exercise every day for 3 reasons:

  • Self-image/self-esteem
  • Health
  • Emotional stability

Without my daily exercise Prozac, my mood is all over the place. Ugh.

This has been the hardest time for me with eating too. Growing up, I ate all the time out of boredom. It was a habit that stayed with me for most of my life and was super difficult to break. Even now it crops up whenever I’m bored for prolonged periods of time…like now.

c01e7e55d6d6e62b60a4afd74eed0722

So I’ve been kicking my heels waiting, waiting, waiting. Staying at home lying in a recliner or lying on the floor sucks after the first day!

What do you do when you’re bored? Do you turn to food when in need?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on March 9, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

