Benefits of Interval Training

When I was young and impressionable, I saw commercials and ads selling weight-loss pills. They were AMAZING! All you had to do was take this pill every day. It would curb your appetite, increase your metabolism, and the excess pounds would magically disappear leaving you looking like a model. Being a lazy fat kid, I begged my mom to let me get some. She told me something I would never forget –

you’ll probably lose weight but as soon as you stop taking the pill, because your habits haven’t changed, you’ll gain the weight back; probably even more than you originally lost.

And what happened to those old miracle weight-loss pills? A lot of them have lawsuits now for causing life-altering issues.

There is no such thing as a magic pill when it comes to weight loss and getting in shape. There is, however, a way of exercising that can get you results fast.

Interval Training – exercising in intervals of varying intensity

There are many benefits to this form of exercising. A few are listed here:

  • Greater and faster muscle development
  • Speed gets faster sooner
  • Greater calorie burn

In other words, you get more bang for your buck in a shorter amount of time. Isn’t that what everyone wants – a way to get results as fast as possible? Their magic pill?

Except with this pill you have to work your butt off in order to make work. Hey, if it makes my butt smaller, I’m all for it! Actually, it’s not so much my butt that I’d like to shrink as the cellulite in my butt.

Like with all good things, there are a few side effects that I feel it my duty to mention.

  • Potential exhaustion during and after
  • Soreness varying from mild to I-Have-To-Use-The-Handicap-Bar-In-Order-Help-Me-Sit-On-The-Toilet
  • Temporary puffiness as muscles grow
  • Potential desire to puke during exercise
  • Admiration from others
  • A badass body

You have limitless potential. Never let anyone tell you that you can’t do something. Whenever anyone tells me I’m not capable of something, I work harder so that I can prove them wrong. It’s a great feeling – proving someone wrong. My pride in myself skyrockets and it’s the one time I let myself indulge guilt-free in smugness.

The routine here is from backonpointe.tumblr.com (but I found it on Pinterest). It’s called Interval Running but can be used as interval training for any kind of cardio. If you don’t like running, climb on the elliptical or maybe the stationary bike. I love the rowing machine myself.

d3922b49d8df2de3996dc2811fb53146

I think this particular intervals routine is totally doable. Lots of jogging in there, not so many sprints. I’ve seen harder but even in this case you get out of it what you put into it. If you think it’s too easy, sprint and jog faster. It won’t be too easy then.

“Remember, when your wings are weak, your spirits done and you’ve flown as far as you can, you’re halfway there!” – Echidna from Legend of the Guardians

Do you ever incorporate intervals into your training? What’s your go-to form of cardio?

*DISCLAIMER: I’m not responsible for any injuries people receive by trying the exercises on my blog. Always consult your doctor before trying a new exercise and always always always listen to your body. If you feel pain, stop. Injuries are too horrible.*

 

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on February 28, 2014, in Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I started doing interval training in January. I find them very challenging, but also feel that it is giving me lots of results )endurance, strength) fast. This is what I do: 10 bicycles, 10 burpees, 10 pulse ups, 10 side jumps on step platform, 10 squats, 10 lateral jumps on step platform. Rest 1 minute. repeat 5 more times.

Leave a Reply

