Zumba Rocks My World!

I had a post all ready to post here about interval training but I decided to postpone it because I had Zumba this morning and it was so purely awesome I just had to blab to the world about it. I think I was even blinded by its sheer awesomeness.

The instructor didn’t incorporate any new dances into the class so I wasn’t all…

035f00ccb3eedfad8399288d2fdef0cb

There was, however, new-ish choreography that she introduced a few weeks ago. I only take the class once a week but, after 3 or so classes even I start to get this stuff down so I didn’t look like a total goofball in class. In fact, I was able to grab a spot in front of the mirror today. I wanted to see how much progress I had made since restarting back in January.

WOW! I had no idea I was able to get my groove on so well! I didn’t bother watching myself during the song I’m still having difficulty with (it’s super fast but I’ve almost got it) because I was too busy watching every tiny movement the instructor was doing, but I’m sure I wasn’t THAT bad…

80d110274c9836ec2c58c44365f182cb

I wore my HR monitor and checked out the results of my ultra-fun “work”out.

  • Class Length – 45min
  • AVG HR – 164bmp
  • Peak HR – 180bmp
  • Calories Burned – 701

701 calories burned. Who cares what you look like, right?? Am I right?? Yeah, I’m totally right.

Here are some reasons to try Zumba:

57ea8bbac1a3cf162336bc91b1107236

Who wouldn’t want all of that?? And you can look super sexy. Well, in your head you can anyway. But after some (or a lot) of practice, you can look sexy for real doing it. You know the saying, “Dance like nobody’s watching?” That’s how it is with Zumba. Just pretend nobody’s watching you and DANCE!

1e48a7f0dafebef47a213827e21267f9

Now I’ll leave you with a video as a parting shot to get you to join me in my Zumba love.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on February 25, 2014, in Dance, Fitness, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

    • It’s the most fun! I hate missing my weekly class. I just wish it was offered more often at my gym. Yay for other Zumba lovers! 😀

      • You can YouTube Zumba classes as well! I’ll be posting later week about that 🙂

      • I can and have in the past. But we don’t have internet access at home anymore and I think the library patrons would be a bit upset with me if I was rocking out there. 😉 But sometimes I borrow the DVDs Zumba Exhilarate from the library and dance at home. My son likes to run in circles around me when I do that. I warned him about getting too close so he keeps his distance while laughing like a crazy kid and then warns me when he’s coming near.

      • That’s so great!!! Sometimes I use the data on my phone (instead of wifi) for workouts. But library rentals is also such a great idea! How old is your son? I can’t wait to start having kids 🙂

      • I’ve been begging my husband for a smartphone for about a year now so I can do that sort of stuff. It’s a waiting game for money. My life is a waiting game and I must say I’ve gained a ton of patience. 😉 Patience is a necessity in this world. My son is 4 1/2 years old. Here’s what you get to look forward to with kids: this morning was freezing cold so he let his hands get cold and then came up behind me while we waited for his bus and stuck his hands under my jacket against my bare skin. WHOA! I was screaming and hopping around trying to get rid of him but he grabbed the back of my pants and stayed with me, laughing the whole time. hahaha Awesome start to the morning!

  1. I seriously dig zumba 🙂 It brought me to the gym actually. I attended my first ever class with an awesome instructor, fell in love with it, stayed and then came to doing weights, resistance training etc. Zumba now is my cardio. No need for treadmill or elliptical.

    • It’s incredibly fun! I was so robotic and clumsy when I first started. And so self-conscious too! I was sure everyone was watching me when I made a mistake or judging my bad dancing or my fat jiggle. Now I just cut loose and have fun. I even feel sexy sometimes too! I probably don’t look it but at least I feel it. 😀 hahaha

      That’s great that Zumba became a stepping stone into strength training too! Becoming more toned really helps with the dancing. It doesn’t hurt that it makes one feel like they can take on the world either. 😉 hehehe

Leave a Reply

