Using the Wall in a Workout

So the other day my husband, son, and I had fun standing on the wall. Yep! We were standing on the wall!

I told my husband about the Trainer To Go routine in my February issue of Self magazine and he expressed hesitation when I said I wanted to try it. After assuring him that the wooden walls of apartment wouldn’t bend or break, I demonstrated move #5 in the routine.

Sure enough, the walls remained firm and he got a good laugh from this strange new sight.

I was so excited to find that I could do it and that it was practically effortless (had it always been so? I don’t know; I was always too afraid to try given my lack of muscle) that I called in my son. He’s 4 ½ years old so the moment I mentioned climbing on the wall with Mama he came running in and threw himself into it when I showed him how.

We were laughing so much that my husband came back in to see what was going on. I suppose he thought if I could do it so could he and maybe he was curious about why we were having such a good time because instead of poo-pooing the idea when I suggested he try, he went ahead and did it!

We were a very happy family of wall walkers.

Back to the routine! It was created by trainer Joshua Lipsey and uses the wall, the wall, and only the wall. Do 2 sets of each move (he says to go slowly) 3x/week on alternate days.

Some of the moves are easy like #5 while others, like #4, are super duper hard. Still others are only as hard as you make them.

Remember to have fun but maybe don’t laugh like we were doing when you’re in some of those positions because you’ll need your core engaged or you might go tumbling down.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you ever use the wall when you exercise? What kinds of exercises are fun for you?

*DISCLAIMER: I will not be held responsible for any injuries that occur while trying the exercises found on my blog. We’re all responsible for our own bodies. Always consult your doctor before trying a new kind of exercise. Always always always listen to your body and stop if you feel pain. Injuries are no fun.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on February 20, 2014, in Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

