Gluten and Dairy-free Pizza!

If someone had asked me a couple years ago what food I couldn’t live without I would’ve said meat pizza and chocolate. I grew up on pizza (among other junk); it was my absolute favorite of anything I could eat and I would’ve chosen it for any meal on any day. In fact, I lived off mac & cheese, pizza, and diet soda for an entire semester in college. Another semester it was ramen.

Yeah, I was really healthy.

And then last winter I found out I had a gluten sensitivity and was lactose-intolerant. No more pizza.

WHAT???!!!

What kind of cruel god allows us to create pizza and then makes me unable to eat it?? It was the end of the world as I knew it. But I still ate it.

And suffered the consequences every time. My parents and husband can attest to that.

Eventually I stopped eating it altogether because it got to be too much for me but I missed it so much. I indulged once this winter for the first time in half a year and boy did it taste like heaven. I waited till the end of the birthday party so only my son and the car would deal with the side effects but I was spared the worst making it a regret-free indulgence.

WOO!

But the past couple days I’ve been sighing over the lack of pizza in my life. I’m sure if I had ignored it like I usually do the craving would’ve gone away in a day or two but I REALLY wanted pizza. So I went to the store and dug around in what I call the “special” section of the store. What did I find? Allergen-free pizza crust mix and crumbly goat’s cheese.

Holy Mackerel! THERE IS A GOD!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gluten/Dairy-free Pizza:

  • Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust Mix (2 tbsp olive oil, 2 eggs, 1.5c warm water, mix)
  • Crumbled Goat’s Cheese
  • Tomato paste
  • Black Olives (sliced)
  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms (sliced)
  • Garlic Powder

I spent an hour making this pizza. It’s not pretty, it could’ve used less tomato paste, and the goat cheese took some getting used to but it was worth it. By the end of my first piece I was accustomed to the sharp taste of the cheese. It’s no meat pizza but I love these particular veggies and it was gluten/dairy-free so I have no complaints whatsoever. I could definitely get used to this pizza.

Best part is that I didn’t burn it or undercook it! Go me! Woo!

My normal time limit for cooking ranges from 10-15 minutes. 30 minutes is pushing it and I should be baking a dessert in that case. To spend an hour making a special pizza (one that my husband decided he really liked as well and he’s not a pizza lover) means that I REALLY WANTED THIS PIZZA!

Is this something healthy to eat? Perhaps not but it’s an innocent enough indulgence considering the things we can indulge in these days. And come on! It’s pizza that gluten/dairy-sensitive people can eat! What’s not to love about that??

Do you have difficulty finding foods specific to your dietary needs? How do you get around these obstacles?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Personal, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

