Circuits and Warm-ups

Some of the feedback I got from my last demo class was that the warm-up shouldn’t be awkward or abrupt. The movements should easily flow into each other so you’re not fighting against your body by switching between moves that are completely unrelated.

For example: doing high knees (running marching) then quickly stopping to change to windmills (circling arms at your sides)

I’ve seen this done plenty of times in DVDs so I figured it was okay but it doesn’t seem to work so well in a real class setting. Honestly, I don’t like it all that much when they do that in DVDs either; it’s too abrupt for me.

Taking that into consideration, I made a new w/u.

  • Bouncing foot-to-foot
  • Butt Kicks
  • High Knees
  • Toe Taps
  • Pull Down/Knee Raise
  • Squats – 20r

I’m still deciding if I demo the first 5 and then order the remaining 15reps while I explain the circuits, or if I do the full 20 with everyone.

The other bit of feedback that I wanted to focus on right now was how to make a workout harder in the amount of time given.

I was hitting all the necessary muscle groups but failed to work them enough for real muscle exhaustion. Let’s face it, most of us don’t want to be exhausted or super sore but, if we want to see results, we have to push ourselves. I saw bigger results after killing myself with 2 levels of Jillian Michaels’ 30-Day Shred than I have in half a year of consistent moderate training.

Did I believe my previous training was moderate? No, I thought it was strenuous…until I did 30DS and found out I wasn’t working to the best of my abilities. Now I know I can push myself harder and longer and still survive.

Do I want to kill myself all the time? No, but half the time sounds good for me. So I’m probably going to stick with circuits from now on. It still gives me a lot to memorize but it’ll be easier to memorize it and here’s why – I’ll do 3-4 similar moves a certain number of repetitions then repeat them once or twice more.

For example, here’s what I practiced today:

Circuit 1: 12, 8, 4 reps – HEAVY DUMBBELLS

  • Static Lunge w/Row
  • Pendulum Lunges
  • Sumo Squat w/Hammer Curl & Press

Circuit 2: 12, 8, 4 reps – LIGHT DUMBBELLS

  • Front/Lat Raises
  • Bent Over Tricep Kickbacks
  • Knee Raise/extention w/Twist

Circuit 3: 12, 8, 4 reps – HEAVY DUMBBELLS

  • Push-ups w/Side Plank
  • Chest Fly w/Bridge
  • Chest Press w/Bridge

Core (Circuit 4): 12, 8, 4 reps

  • 3-Legged Plank w/Hip Abduction
  • Mermaid (one side)
  • Frog Crunch
  • Mermaid (opp side)
  • Superman

I would do each circuit separately, do the moves once for 12 reps then go back and do them all again for 8 reps then again for 4.

This was a test to see how long it would take to do it all and to see how hard it would be. I’m thinking of changing the reps to 15, 10, 8 though. What I didn’t test out was the added in cardio in between each circuit.

I also wasn’t completely happy with the core section. I want more transverse abs in there. But I suppose there’s nothing wrong with keeping it the way it is. I mean, it’s not like there won’t be more than one class to prepare for. Although technically I have no classes at all yet. And it’s not like this is a bad core workout.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on February 11, 2014, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

