30DS Level 2 Finished!

Oh thank goodness! I’m finished with level 2 of Jillian Michaels’ 30-Day Shred! And I’m injured. Pfft. Figures.

The entire thing proved to be too much for, I’m guessing because that’s where the pain is centered, my vastus medialis. In other words, the muscle on the inner thigh above my knee. What exactly I did to it, I don’t know as I never went to a doctor. But I’ve been “taking it easy” since realizing the burn wasn’t the same as the “feel the burn” kind of pain and it was getting worse.

My version of taking it easy means that I iced the leg (both actually as the other leg had the same pain going on just on a different level), took my rest day, and then continued on with the last two days of the program. I followed Anita instead of Natalie though so my legs weren’t pushed as hard as I normally would’ve done. It wasn’t easy but neither did I feel like I was going to die either.

To compensate I was very careful to watch my form and increased my weights on the rows and hammer curls. It turns out Anita’s version of many moves requires more core work than Natalie’s so my core and arms did not get the same semi-holiday that my legs enjoyed.

My new measurements are as follows:

  • Weight – 165lbs (-.4lb)
  • Upper Arms – 11.5in (L,R)
  • Bust – 37in (-.5)
  • Chest – 30.25in (-1.25)
  • Waist – 30in (-1)
  • Below Belly Button – 37.5in (-.5)
  • Hips – 40.5in
  • Thighs – 22in (L,R) (-1.5, -1)
  • Calves – 15.25in (L,R) (+.25)

Since the beginning of the program I’ve lost a total of 5.75in all over and .4lbs. I’ve also gained 1/4in in my calves. The calves were probably due to measuring in different spots though as it took me awhile to figure out where the largest part of my calf was and then consistently find it again after.

I’m not really paying much attention to my arms, calves or bust. I merely put them up here because those measurements are used. My arms and calves may be losing fat but they’re gaining muscle and I can see that definition change so I’m not worried about those numbers or how they change.

As for my bust…I’m not really sure what to think of my bust numbers so I don’t. I have big boobs. There isn’t much that can change that short of surgery. I know I have back fat and I’m happy to get rid of it but I’m pretty sure the major part of those inches comes from my boobs and my rib cage. So, like the arms, I know there’s fat there but I’m not very worried about the numbers.

It’s that pooch below the belly button that nags me and frustrates me. And my hips. I have fat on my hips that refuses to go away. It makes me crazy! As my weight has dropped off, it has been brought to my attention that I am undeniably pear-shaped. The majority of my fat is in my lower belly and my hips. It’s maddening!

But it could be worse. At least I have muscle under all that extra flab now and it’s slowly taking the place of the fat.

Ever so slowly.

Any other pear-shaped people out there fighting against their genetics? What body type are you?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

