Fighting Against Nature?

I love to dance. Am I any good at it is another issue altogether.  My favorite form of dance is Zumba though I really enjoy hip hop as well.

Today’s cardio was my favorite Zumba class at my gym. I’ve been taking Zumba classes off and on at my gym for a couple years now. I had to really work to memorize a mechanical version of the moves before I could even begin to attempt something resembling dance. It took well over a year doing the same dances again and again to learn to be mechanical.

Then teachers changed. Though choreography stayed the same, it was done as a dance instead of simply moves strung together. It wasn’t very difficult to adapt because I already knew the moves.

But I took a break to focus on running (my knees weren’t liking doing both) and when I came back the teacher had changed about 90% of her songs. One class a week for 1-2 months now. Some of the songs have been easier to get the hang of than others but I’m still fumbling a lot. Now she’s added 2-3 brand new songs today and I feel like I have 2 left feet and perhaps 2 left arms as well.

Sometimes I feel as if I’m defying nature by trying to dance. It doesn’t come naturally or even easily to me. I’ve spent the last several years practicing different kinds of dancing and I still suck big time. I have to learn an awkward mechanical version of the steps and memorize them in their entirety before I can even hope to turn it to some clumsy form of dance.

I’m not going to give up dancing just because I suck at it – it’s way too much fun. But I wonder if it’s just not in my genetic makeup to dance.

What kinds of skills don’t come naturally to you? Did you ever want to do/try something but given up on it because you weren’t good at it?

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 29, 2014, in Dance, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

