Bored with the Treadmill?

Winter is still upon us, more so in some places than in others. The running elite (and many other crazy people) may insist on continuing their running regime outside, but for the rest of us there’s the treadmill. In fact, I’m more of an all-year-round kind of person with that but that’s for other reasons I couldn’t avoid. Things are different this year so I’ll be able to move my running out of doors this Spring when the weather gets warmer. Warmer for me means at the very least in the 50s preferably in the 60s but I think I’d be waiting a long time for that to happen.

I’m a wuss when it comes to the cold.

After running a lot on treadmills, I can get pretty bored with the whole thing. I mean, no scenery change, no varying difference in incline difficulty…Just staring at the same place on the wall the entire time. Very boring. Thank goodness for  music, ebooks, and audiobooks! Total lifesavers there.

Maybe you’re still bored with the treadmill though. In that case, try taking a break from it. Here are some great pieces of cardio equipment you can find at your gym and some plans to go along with them:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m currently loving the Stairmaster (called Stair Mill here in the above routine). It gives a great workout to my butt and my hip flexors. My gym’s new Stairmasters turn it into a kind of game with high scores and stuff. I got to 2nd place one day with how many feet I climbed. Out of all the options I can choose from on the Stairmaster, I enjoy matching a certain distance the most. So I’ll set the machine to keep going until I’ve climbed to the top of the Pyramids of Giza or something. It’s awesome fun! The best part is when I get to put my initials on the high score board. Woo! It seriously appeals to the competitive side of me without annoying complete strangers by staring at their machines to do better than them.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 26, 2014, in Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

