Sexy Back

Upon perusal of the millions of workouts I cut out from magazines, I came across one entitled “Shortcut To A Sexy Back.” What a misleading title but everyone’s looking for a shortcut so I can see why they named it that. My husband looked at the short-haired model in the picture and was completely stumped. What did short hair have to do with a sexy back? You know, a “short cut” instead of “shortcut?” English isn’t his first language.

To be fair when my son was a baby, a friend once gave him a onesie that had “Amazing” written across the front. Since the buttons down the front cut the word in two, I read it as “Ama Zing” and wondered what on earth that meant. I don’t have my husband’s excuse. It’s actually become a lasting joke between the two of us.

Back to the article. It was the featured express workout from the November/December 2013 issue of Fitness Magazine. Tracy Anderson (celebrity trainer and creator of popular exercise DVDs such as Tracy Anderson Method: Mat Workout) demoed her go-to moves for a great back/butt. I’ve tried out DVDs of Anderson’s before and posted about them – The Perfect Design Series—Level 1—Beginner and Tracy Anderson Method: Dance Cardio Workout. Both give great workouts but she does take some getting used to. I’m still getting used to her actually.

In fact, here’s a quick follow-up to my post about trying her Dance Cardio Workout DVD. It’s not for me. I learned the steps to the first dance combination but I could never quite manage to get my body to move the right way in the middle while actually dancing. I was hoping to learn more than one combination but I obviously have two left feet that think otherwise. So the search remains for the Anderson DVD that speaks most to me.

“These moves not only tone your back but also lift your posture so you appear taller and thinner,” says Anderson. They are deceptively simple and, when done correctly, should strengthen your back/core and give your butt a lift. Free butt lift! Sign me up!

Equipment Needed:

  • Pair of 3lb dumbbells
  • Hand towel

Do the following circuit of 6 moves twice. It should take about 15 minutes. Anderson works a lot of muscles at once to cut down on time. She tends more toward a streamlined look rather than bulging muscles so don’t expect to wow anyone in a body building competition with this moves. You should, however, look pretty good in one of those skimpy spaghetti-strap yoga tops.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

*DISCLAIMER: Do these moves at your own risk. Always consult your doctor before trying a new exercise program. Always, always, always listen to your body and stop if you feel pain*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 23, 2014, in Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

