30DS Lvl 1 Finished!

Finally! Having 2 cardio days and a rest day every week made the whole thing much easier to finish. 2 days of 30DS made my shoulders ache. Add to that the Circuit Fusion classes and Zumba and my right shoulder was killing me for a little while there. Luckily, the cardio and rest days afforded me the down-time I needed to heal.

I probably should’ve been keeping track of how many times I did almost every move but I didn’t think of it. In fact, it only occurred to me on Day 4 that I should count how many push-ups I was doing in the two 30-second intervals. Here’s my overall progress:

# of (Modified) Push-Ups:

Day 4: 15, 13

Day 10: 26, 20

Here are my current measurements after 10 days of lvl 1 30DS (16 days total):

Weight: 166.2 lb (+.8)

Upper Arms: 11.25 in (L) 11.6 in (R) (-.25 L)

Bust: 38 in (+.5)

Chest: 30.6 in (-.9)

Waist: 30.5 in (-.5)

Below Belly Button: 38.5 in (+.5)

Hips: 40.75 in (+.25)

Thighs: 22.5 in (L,R) (-1 L, -.5 R)

Calves: 15.25 in (L,R) (+.25)

When I would take measurements before I’d round to the nearest inch or half inch. I decided I wanted more accurate numbers this time so I refrained from rounding. Since measuring tapes don’t have decimals, these have been guesstimated from fractions. My right arm might have seen improvement but the original number had been rounded so I can’t tell. My calves will never be wholly accurate because I’m still new at measuring them and I doubt if I’m hitting the exact same place every time. I’d like to believe I was wrong with my original measurements but I can’t say for sure.

Why is there not a greater weight loss? Probably due to my lousy diet. It’s been stressful. Not the workouts, just life. There’d probably be more physical change had my diet been better too. Still I’m stronger, have higher self-esteem, and believe that I look better even if the numbers don’t agree. I’m happy!

In all I’ve lost about 3.15 in and gained about 1.5 in. Can I claim that extra 1.5 in to be water retention? Maybe but probably not. Makes me laugh to even think it. What excuses we give ourselves!

One thing I do need to take into account is the fact that I’m retaining water. Part of it is from my diet and there’s no excuse for that, but the main part is from being female and I can’t help that. Here’s to hormones! May they rot in peace.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 17, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

