30-Day Shred Week 1

My first week of Jillian Michaels’ 30-Day Shred can be summed up in one word:

Exhausting.

I do whatever workout is called for on that particular day and fight to use my brain the rest of the time. Due to this exhaustion, I’m not digesting well and my heartburn is flaring back up on a regular basis. This is understandable though as I’m not eating well ($ problems), am dealing with stress ($ problems), am not sleeping well (enough?), and am probably doing more than my body can currently handle on the physical side. This last reason I don’t like to believe though as other people do more than me and have no problems. Maybe my lack of energy is also caused by the current lack of sunlight where I live.

Winter. Ugh.

Here was my schedule:

W: 30DS Day 1

Th: 30DS Day 2, Walking – 25min 1.45mi, Running – 37.26min 5k

F: Stairmaster – 23.57min 853ft (80floors)

Sa: 30DS Day 3

Su: 30DS Day 4

M: Circuit Fusion Class – 30min, Walking – 5min .32mi, Running – 11.12min 1mi

Tu: Zumba – 45min

When I write it out like that it doesn’t seem like a whole lot anymore. Then I have to remember that I’m no longer used to running at all much less running a full 5k and the single mile I did was pushing myself as hard as I could without getting sick because I no longer had the 30 minutes of running time I had planned on taking. That may seem fast for some but I was consistently getting single 10-minute miles without trying before so it’s slow for me. Still, it’s faster than I what I was getting at the end of 2013 I guess.

I’m also still new to the stairmaster and getting as far as I did was a feat for me. The first time I used that machine, no one had shown me proper form and I jumped into a super hard routine that I had gotten from a magazine. I discovered the pain of the sciatica and afterwards treated the machine as if it had leprosy imbedded in its evil metallic plastic body. Since then I have learned proper form and no longer shun it like the demon it is. In fact, my gym got some new ones in at the end of 2013 and these new ones have high score charts on them. My 24 minutes on it ranked 2nd on the scoreboard both with floors climbed and with calories burned. I’m still quite proud of myself. I’m determined to try again on Friday. I think if I had finished a full 30 minutes I could’ve definitely made it to first place. Sweet!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 8, 2014, in Fitness, Monthly Challenge, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

