30-Day Shred Challenge

Jillian Michaels’ 30-Day Shred dvd isn’t a new thing by any means. I’ve had the dvd for some years now. I’m not quite sure how long Jillian Michaels had been popular when I got the dvd but it’s about 5-6 years old by this time.

I attempted the 30-Day Shred twice before when I was around 190lbs a couple years ago. The first time I gave up after 4 days. The second time I gave up after 7 days.

This is the plan I was told to follow:

  • Lvl 1 – 10 days
  • Lvl 2 – 10 days
  • Lvl 3 – 10 days

No rest, no breaks. Just keep on truckin’. My body was so sore and I was so tired of pushing myself to do the exact same thing every day that I would ended up getting quite sick of it and quitting.

It is, however, my belief that

Every failure brings some success.

That should be a famous quote or something. I do believe I said something intelligent and, dare I say it, inspirational.

Woo! Go me!

This time will be different though. It always bugged me that I was doing strength training every single day with no rest. I had always been taught your muscles need time to rest to get the most benefit and to decrease your chances of injury. This is why we’re supposed to do exercises every other day.

So I looked up more info on 30DS and found that Jillian Michaels never meant for people to be doing this program a full 30 days with no rest. She instead recommended people to do

  • 2 days DS
  • 1 day Cardio
  • 2 days DS
  • 1 day Cardio
  • Rest

I still wonder about doing 2 days in a row of the dvd but I’m not going to quibble. Unfortunately these cardio and rest breaks, while enjoyable, mean that I’m going to have to stick to the plan nearly 60 days instead of 30. Ouch.

So far I’ve done my first 4 days of DS at lvl 1 with little to say. Given how much fitter I am now, lvl 1 is much easier than it used to be. Even so, after 2 simultaneous days, my shoulders were extremely sore and I was relieved to have a cardio day. The first couple days I was sure I had broken my back. Side lunges with front raises and modified bent-over rows (your arms are pointed somewhere between the wall in front of you and the floor so your shoulders and back get more of a workout) killed my back afterward so I wanted to hobble around like a grandma who’d spent her whole life working in rice fields.

In addition to the 30DS, I’m continuing with my running (which will probably get moved to the cardio days now) and D’s Circuit Fusion class twice a week. Measurements, weight, and pictures will be posted at the end in late February. Naturally, I also recently found out that my favorite Zumba class changed to a time/day when I can go. Of course it falls on my rest day.

If you’re having fun, it doesn’t really count as exercise…right? I REALLY want to go again. I miss dancing so much that I’m dancing in my chair while I eat and while I sit at red lights in the car.

It may turn out that I have too much on my plate what with running, Circuit Fusion, Zumba, and 30DS. I guess we’ll see how well I can juggle and what part of me falls off first. My fingers are crossed that it’ll be the fat.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on January 5, 2014, in Fitness, Monthly Challenge, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

