Winter Holidays and Honey Treats

Winter Holidays.

A season for love. A season for family and friends. A season for happiness.

A season for no free time at all because your children are on vacation and you still have all the normal day-to-day duties to get done plus the stress of those pesky holiday pounds.

I wish I were talking about the English pound but, alas, I’m not.

But to say I’m stressing over my holiday pounds would be a lie because it seems to me to be a worthless thing to stress about. I have enough worries on my plate without adding holiday food as well. Oddly enough, when I mentally slapped some sense into me and stopped worrying, I immediately lost the few pounds I had gained.

And I’m happy. Not because I’ve lost weight (though that’s quite lovely) but because I’m able to enjoy guilt-free what holiday treats I get. Stressing over every little treat whether it be a cookie or a rice cake sandwich with deli meat made me want to shove the entire box of cookies or a million rice cake sandwiches in my mouth.

Thank goodness I know better that to eat a whole box of cookies (two small chocolate chip cookies make me feel weird, more than that and the consequences are dire) but the sandwiches are another story. My digestion was suffering.

At first when I told myself it was all right to indulge over the holidays, I went a little overboard. But then when I had calmed down and the cravings had been satiated, I accepted the fact that I had gained weight and went about enjoying one of the only times of the year when it’s generally considered acceptable to eat treats.

Moderation won out sooner than expected. Honey replaced chocolate chip cookies while oatmeal and salads replaced the sandwiches. Voila! The weight has been lost.

Do I feel deprived? Not in the least. I still enjoy a cookie a day though not usually at night and my oatmeal has been spruced up with almond milk and honey. My tastebuds revel in that meal and I’ve been tricked into thinking it’s a treat because I always used to keep oatmeal to its bare minimum for the sake of calories. How delicious almond milk has become! I never knew. Even without the honey it’d be a yummy meal. But with the honey? Glorious treat!

A little honey goes a long way so all it needs is a drizzle to be effective.

Another honey treat is rice cakes with almond butter and honey drizzled on top. Pure heaven.

These are my main treats. With them I can control most of my cravings and remain allergen-free so I don’t feel gross or sick. And, yes, I’ve lost weight by substituting them for cookies and pastries.

This holiday season has been good for my health. I’m even ending the year with my second-lowest weight ever – 163lb. I bounce from 163-165lb now. I thought when I hit 162.2lb that I would be able to reach my goal of 160lb before New Years but that’s when the stress became too great and I started gaining weight again. I may not make my goal weight before the new year but I will soon after I have no doubt. Maybe even before my next birthday in March. Wouldn’t that be a nice birthday gift!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on December 31, 2013, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

