PiYo Strength and Circuit Fusion

I went to a PiYo Strength class for the first time. It was interesting. Combination of pilates and yoga moves put together in a constantly-moving pattern. Lots of quick-paced up and down motions. Not advisable for those people who get dizzy easily.

I thought it was fun though. Awesome balance and leg work, especially with the hips. Various kinds of push-ups and squats/lunges were added in as well.

The music was upbeat but not super fast or anything – perfect for how the class is set up. I enjoy the teacher’s selection of music. She teaches Insanity at the gym as well and has fun music for that too. I imagine the same can be said for her RIPPED classes.

PiYo Strength isn’t relaxing or soothing and you don’t have that rest time before or after. No falling asleep in this class!

In other news, Circuit Fusion has officially been taken over by a new instructor. My friend Kelly is switching jobs so her class was taken over by… I don’t know if he’d be cool with me using his name here so we’ll call him D.

It was his first time teaching a group fitness class. The class could be summed up as follows: shoulders, squats, and cardio. It was a little rough around the edges and didn’t work all the muscles but, if he keeps the class as it is, my shoulders and butt will look awesome. If nothing else my butt will be amazing come summer time.

That would be nice – less cellulite on my butt and back of thighs.

We’ll see how D manages the rest of his classes. He said he would experiment. I’m cool with his cardio but I hope he adds in more strength training. I think the feedback he got today from others in the class covered what my feedback so I told him I’d reserve mine till after his next class to see how he works that one. I did comment, however, on the number of squats he had us doing. “Death by squats,” I said. It got the intended laugh.

It’ll be interesting how it all turns out and the direction D takes the class.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on December 31, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

