Tone It Up – Holiday Waistline Trimmer

For weeks now I’ve had this free core workout from Tone It Up. It’s nothing big and the moves are very simple, but for some reason I had never gotten around to trying it until recently.

Katrina Hodgson and Karena Dawn are successful personal trainers who teamed up to create their fitness site Tone It Up. There’s really only one word for them – AWESOME! And beautiful. So I guess two words. On a regular basis they contribute their mad skillz to Self Magazine for Self’s Drop 10 and other exercise routines.

But the routine I’m interested in today is called Holiday Waistline Slimmer and it was featured some time back on their blog. The moves are pretty simple and there are only 5 of them.

  1. The Bird-Dog (alt sides, 10r each side)
  2. Crunch and Punch II (alt sides, 10r each side)
  3. Chairpose Squat (15r)
  4. Waistline Cincher (10r each side)
  5. The Pike! (15r)

Do 3 sets of the moves. Dumbbells, a mat, and a stability ball are needed. I kept my dumbbells light at 5lb but I would’ve been better off with my 3lb dumbbells in #3 because my shoulders are not the best. I also don’t have a stability ball so instead of doing #5 I did reverse crunches.

Later I learned I could’ve done the #5 without a stability ball. The results wouldn’t have been exactly the same but they would’ve been closer than reverse crunches.

I only did 1 set because I hadn’t been planning on working out the day I tested this. I was just curious to see what the moves were like. Actually, I ended up getting a light workout in that day because even one set of these moves (#3-5) got a bit difficult and then I went through a 3-minute warm-up about 6-7 times in an attempt to get it right and record it for a friend.

I’m not sure if my light sweat came from my movements or from the heat in the room. I had to open a window to let the winter air cool me off before I was done. Turned off the heat in the apt too because I was roasting. I learned from that experience and keep the heat off and the window cracked when I exercise at home now.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on December 29, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

