Tracy Anderson – The Perfect Design Series – Level 1 – Beginner

This week while I practice my demo, I’m going to be testing out a DVD I borrowed from the library today. It’s from Tracy Anderson, a celebrity personal trainer. Celebrities such as Gwyneth Paltrow, Courtney Cox, and Shakira swear by her and she was featured in Self Magazine with a broomstick routine she created for Gwyneth Paltrow.

As I have no broomstick or mop or any other kind of tall, straight stick, I’m not going to try out that particular workout any time soon. The DVD looks…interesting…and is called The Perfect Design Series – Level 1 – Beginner.

I watched it through once to see what I was getting myself into and my eyes just about bugged out of my head! The hip exercise repetitions were enough to make me want to return the DVD to the library before actually attempting it.

My main issue as I watched it on fast forward was that not once did she ever smile. She looked bored or something. It was a real turn-off. I won’t let her lack of visual enthusiasm deter me though and I’m determined to do this DVD from start to finish (a whole 50 minutes!!) at least once if not 2-3 times to see how it feels when my body is more used to the moves.

The lower body portion is filled with simple moves that are repeated many many times without break. The core section is filled with super hard moves that will have my lower back screaming for mercy. I predict modifications needed for that area as my lower back and abs aren’t strong enough for these moves. The upper body section was constant and constantly changing with no real direction as to what the arms were doing and were going to be doing. It’s choppy and silly-looking choreography that will need to be memorized for me to be able to do it successfully.

We’ll see if I feel silly as I’m doing it and/or after I’m done. I think my shoulders and hips will be burning if nothing else.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on December 18, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

