Demo Feedback

The demo class went well I think. I was really nervous in the beginning but my voice and body weren’t shaking at least. Woo! I messed up in the very beginning with the warm-up and I was able to laugh it off and keep going instead of freaking out and starting over. “I’ve made my mistake so the rest of the class should go well, right?” They gave me marks for taking the mess-up in stride and not letting it hold me back.

Main areas needing improvement:

  • cueing
  • transitions

Things I did well:

  • welcoming voice
  • meeting/greeting
  • hit all large muscle groups
  • demonstrated lower impact moves without shame or judgement
  • announced exact number of push-ups

My transitions are a bit choppy and the routine needed the barest tweaking with move order in two sections. One switch was suggested in the beginning and, showing that I had understood the advice and was implementing it, I then suggested later another switch that will prove beneficial for a smooth transition.

Mostly what I need work on are things that will improve with time and practice. Not a problem. But my cueing and transitions need to be better before I can start teaching so they’ve given me another month (or less depending on how quickly I can get myself ready) to practice the advice given at which point I’ll do another demo. If all goes well I’ll start subbing after that.

Maybe most other teachers don’t need more than one demo to prove they can teach but I don’t feel bad or discouraged. I have zero experience and most other teachers have at least degrees if not experience as well supporting them. I’ve gone from being morbidly obese to being fit and healthy enough to teach a group fitness class. It doesn’t matter how many demos I need to do to get ready for this, I have done a fantastic job.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on December 15, 2013, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “It doesn’t matter how many demos I need to do to get ready for this, I have done a fantastic job.”

    Darn straight! I’m so proud of you. ^_^

    I had no idea they graded on things like cueing, but that makes perfect sense. If we lived close to each other, I would let you practice cueing on me (and kicking my butt in my person) as often as you wanted. Hee.

    Seriously, though. Good job! I think “Demonstrated low impact moves without shame or judgement” is a huge thing. It means a lot to people (like younger me) who can’t do certain moves even when they’re in relatively good shape, and even more to people (like me now) who feel so ashamed of their weight or limitations as is. I took a ballet-fusion class when we lived in Arizona, and my pelvic issues made some of the moves crazy hard. I felt totally judged by the rest of the women in the class, but the instructor was so lovely and helpful and supportive that I wanted to take all of her classes. 🙂 So yay! It looks like you got a lot of good feedback and positive notes and thumbs up!

    Congrats on making such a big step! So awesome! *__*

    • Yeah, unfortunately it can feel like the others in class are judging. That kept me from doing classes in the beginning. When I found the mental/emotional strength to take a class, I had to initially force myself to ignore everyone else and focus on myself and the instructor. I succeeded so well at forgetting everyone else one time in a dance class that the instructor praised me during the dance for putting attitude into it! I was so embarrassed that I held back a bit afterwards because I thought everyone was watching me again, but it made me feel so good. My mood was soaring the rest of the day! I got a hip bump and a high-five from a zumba instructor less than a year ago for letting myself go and enjoying myself. Boy were those good days!

Leave a Reply

