Circuit Fusion Demo Class

It’s time! My Circuit Fusion demo class is tomorrow. Exciting! And scary. I’ve waited a whole year to do this and suddenly it’s tomorrow. Whoa.

My playlist is all ready and rarin’ to go. This is the routine I’ve prepared:

equipment needed:

  • exercise ball, a pair of light and heavy dumbbells (5-10lbs)

Warm-up (2-3min):

  • marching narrow/wide/double tap/narrow
  • knee raises pull down narrow/wide
  • squat side reach
  • butt kicks
  • jumping jacks

Strength Training (12r):

  • sumo w/heel raise (D opt)
  • walking lunge w/twist (B)
  • chest flys (D, B)
  • chest press (D, B)
  • tricep ext (D, B)

Cardio (30sec each):

  • standing scissor legs
  • side-to-side jumps

Strength Training (12r):

  • hammer curl shoulder press (D, B)
  • wall squat w/punch (D, B)
  • single leg deadlift (D)
  • walking squat
  • front/lat raises (D)

Cardio (30sec each):

  • jump rope
  • side-to-side shuffle reach

Strength Training (12r):

  • side lunge knee raise
  • push-ups
  • 1-arm row plank (D)

Core (15r):

  • kneeling side slimmer
  • in & outs
  • scissor legs
  • superman

Stretching (3min)

Naturally I’m a terrible counter so those numbers are all rounded. The warm-up may change at the very last second because I can’t get my timing right on transitioning from knee raises to the squatting side reach. So maybe I’ll take that out and replace it with some marching butt kicks before going into the running butt kicks. Or…..

I hate warm-ups. The rest of the class requires little to no coordination.

Wish me luck! After this I’ll either be a sub or have a class of my own starting January. It all depends on what the boss lady decides. I’m so nervous!!

My biggest fears are messing up or getting too tired during the class. I’ve been experiencing a ton of muscle fatigue these last several weeks. Adrenaline (and perhaps coffee? hehe) should keep me strong tomorrow though. Just have to remember to breathe and be confident. I can do this! I’ve been doing this at home for nearly a year now. I can do it tomorrow in front of others too. They’re nice women. I know them. One is my friend.

…Must breathe…

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on December 12, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You’re gonna do awesome! Because you ARE awesome. 😀 So proud! But really, I’m so excited for you that *I* have butterflies. 😀

    Here’s a quick trick: Before class, spend 3 – 5 minutes standing like a glorious winner. Victory pose! Arms overhead in a V, head slightly back, chest expanded, feet planted shoulder-width apart. Doing it in front of a mirror is supposed to increase the effect, but I feel self-conscious enough without watching myself pose. Do that, though, and it’ll increase your testosterone and various feel-good neurotransmitters, resulting in a confidence and performance boost. Saw it in a TED video, and have used it to overcome anxiety. 🙂 It’s a physiological trait that occurs spontaneously with victory, success, and elation, and faking it still causes the same process to happen in our brains. Pretty spiffy!

    Have fun and enjoy yourself tomorrow!!

    • I wish I had caught this post before my demo! But I will definitely try this out before my next one. Goodness, maybe it’s better to try it every day to remind myself that I rock! Should that be a daily goal till January 1st? We should try the Victory Pose every day till the end of the year and see how we feel about ourselves. Maybe after we check a big item off our To-Do list. 😉 That’s your mission, should you choose to accept it! This message will self-destruct in 5 seconds.

Leave a Reply

