Insanity

I thought about what I would write here after I tested out an Insanity class. It was filled with expletives. When the class was done, I told my friend who had asked me to go with her that it was her worst idea ever.

Ten minutes later we were making plans to go again to next week’s class.

So how was the class itself? Well!

For a normal workout eating something moderately light about an hour beforehand is no problem. Depending on the food and the exercise anyway. That was not the case with Insanity. Up and down and up and down. I got so tired that, toward the end, I threw up a bit in my mouth.

OMG! EEEEEWWWWWW!!!!!!

Word to the wise: Eat NOTHING for at least 2 hours before class!!! Nothing nothing nothing!

I won’t be able to taste the Pumpkin Spice ALT bars from Larabars the same way ever again. Or at least not for awhile in any case.

The class is made up mostly of cardio. It’s fast-paced and keeps changing all the time. I’m not sure what the DVD or other classes are like but the class offered at my gym was 30 minutes long and moved in increments of 30 seconds. The teacher would demonstrate all the moves we’d be doing in a section then we’d repeat the segment 3 times. Warm-up was intense and lasted (with stretches) about 5 minutes. Cooldown (again with stretches) lasted about 2-3 minutes.

The teacher added in an extra 5-10 minutes of ab work at the end for those of us who wanted it. More expletives can be imagined here. Then more stretching but mostly on our own.

My heart rate was immediately up in the class and stayed staggeringly high the whole way through. I had to stop many many times partially because my pants kept falling down (eek! wardrobe malfunction!) but mostly because my legs just couldn’t keep up. Part of that is due to some mysterious thigh fatigue I’ve got going on lately but I think it’s mostly due to the fact that the class was seriously high intensity.

You really do need to be insane to do that class! But due to the constant changing of the moves, the class flew by in no time! It was amazing how quickly it was done.

Yeah, I’m planning on going again next week. Hopefully Kelly will be able to join me again.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on December 8, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

