“Stacked” Strengthening

Angela Leigh’s The 13-Minute Fat Melt was featured in the February 2013 issue of Self and I’m testing it out this week. It’s cut into two sections that can be done separately or together – strengthening and cardio. Each section should take about 13 minutes to do.

Strengthening moves:

  1. Prisoner Squat (alt sides 30 sec)
  2. Fly Away (30 sec)
  3. On Strike (15 sec each side)
  4. Kick-Starter (alt sides 30 sec)
  5. Grab and Go (alt sides 30 sec)
  6. Walk It Out (30 sec)

Start with #1 for the given amount of time then rest for 30 sec. Start over with #1 and add #2. Rest for 30 sec. Start again #1, #2, #3. Rest. Etc. You’ll end with a climbing staircase of 6 sets with the 6th move being done only once as it’s the last move in the last set.

My legs and arms are all wobbly and feel like they’re going to fall off. However, the rest of me? hmmm….That remains to be seen.

*EDIT: Next day my legs and arms are sore. There’s some lower back soreness but not much. Some side oblique soreness but pretty negligible. For the most part I feel like I’ve really neglected my core and that I should do a routine that’s geared toward it.*

I messed up and did that Prisoner Squat 30 sec each side instead of alternating each side for 30 sec. My legs got pretty tired by the end. I also did twice as many On Strikes on the first go because I took it for granted that it would be 30 seconds like the other moves. Honestly though, I think I probably would’ve been better off sticking with 30 sec each side. Still, the increase of squats got me all wobbly as it turned out so that’s that.

It’s a fun workout and goes by super quickly but I wonder at its thoroughness. My arms and legs are feeling it (lots of full push-ups from plank position and superman position in the Fly Away move) but not my core. Maybe I messed up the Grab and Go move. I should’ve kept my butt higher but my arms were so tired so I was concentrating on them. People with wrist problems (and shoulder problems perhaps) should probably stay away from the Grab and Go move.

*DISCLAIMER: I will not be held responsible for any injuries incurred during this or any other workout I post on this blog. Always consult your doctor before starting any new exercises. If you want more suggestions on ways to get fit and healthy, you might consider making an appointment with a personal trainer or trying out a group exercise class at your local gym. Remember to always listen to your body and hold back or rest when you need it. Injuries suck.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on November 18, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

