Life Happens

Did I do any exercise last week? Nope. Why not? Because I’m a lazy butt.

Among other things.

My son got a fever last Sunday and I hate to leave him when he’s sick so I didn’t get to the gym. I could’ve exercised at home. I should have exercised at home. But I didn’t. Being lazy can be okay but it’s not in this instance because I’ve been lazy off and on for too long and am losing muscle and gaining fat. And I need to get ready to teach a demo class…which I won’t be able to do if I can’t get my fat butt in gear.

And staying at home due to my son’s sickness has had its consequences as well. I try to get out of the house for hours every day because when I don’t I tend to eat…and eat…and eat. So I’m all bloated with carbs as well. Have I at least been eating good things? They’ve been tasty but I wouldn’t call them very good for me. I need my daily salad and I haven’t been getting it. ugh. My body hates me right now.

To top that off, I stumbled off the flagstone path near my apartment on Wednesday because I was being a dork and trying to read interesting mail while I walked on a narrow path. OUCH!!! I iced my ankle off and on that afternoon but didn’t elevate it because I couldn’t conveniently do so. I knew it wasn’t a sprain so I figured the RICE treatment wasn’t that big a deal. I can’t remember if it’s a tendon or a muscle that’s been hurt but it felt like a rubberband that has been stretched out really quickly and then been allowed to snap back. It’s above my ankle on the outside of my leg and it’s still sore but I try to stretch it every now and then during the day. Nothing serious. Just vaguely annoying. Feels like a muscle that’s been worked a lot and is sore now.

Tomorrow I get back into the swing of things…again. Life has been crazy lately and not just with me falling off flagstone paths.

Holy cow! Outside the window where I’m sitting is a woman whose thighs are literally the size of my biceps!! My arms are about 12″ in circumference. That is one skinny woman!! She looks to be about 5’7″ or 5’8″ too. Jeez…I’d worry about her legs snapping like toothpicks under the weight of her purse. The world really is populated with every kind of body type imaginable. Sometimes it’s really amazing. I’m not saying any of that with negativity. Just an observation.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on November 17, 2013, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

