Treadmill Workouts – Sprint-Ladder

Today’s tested out treadmill routine from Self.com’s list of 10 Boredom-Busting Treadmill Workouts is: Sprint-Ladder. The routine itself is below in bold italics; my times for the first go and the repeat follow in italics.

Sprint-Ladder Workout:

5-10min warm-up: walk/jog at comfortable pace (5min @ 3.5-4mph, 5min @ 4.5mph)

  • 60sec @ 7mph (7mph) (7mph)
  • 60sec @ 5mph (5mph) (5mph)
  • 45sec @ 8mph (8mph) (7.5-8mph)
  • 60sec @ 4mph (4mph) (4mph)
  • 30sec @ 9mph (8mph) (7-7.5mph)
  • 60sec @ 3mph (3mph) (3mph)
  • 30sec @ 10mph (8-8.5mph) (8mph)
  • 90sec @ 3mph (3mph) (3mph)

Repeat entire program
5min cooldown: walk/jog at comfortable, gradually slowing pace

Oh. My. Holy. Cow.

Did you see those speeds of 9 and 10mph?! Yeah, that should be a tip-off that this routine is 1) not for the faint-hearted, and 2) not for the beginning runner. It’s actually said to be for experienced runners. I believe I’m an intermediate runner and I was no match for those speeds. Luckily, they encourage people not to try those speeds if people are unable to do them safely.

I love how they termed it too.

“Huffing and puffing is a good thing, but flying off the treadmill is not!”

I have a healthy desire not to fall on my face, maybe break my teeth/nose, get blood everywhere and all in public…how embarrassing! Not to mention painful and messy. So with that in mind, I chose speeds I knew I could handle but that would push me as far as I could push myself without falling.

One would think 30min of this would kill me but the time flew by because of the tiny increments. As a safety precaution, I hooked up the emergency stop magnet to my shirt so that if I fell it would pull the magnet off the machine and the machine would stop. Maybe in my attempts to push myself harder and farther, I push myself too hard or too far and my legs give out. If I don’t test my limits, I’ll never know what they are. Hence the safety measures.

I think today I reached really close to my sprinting limits. I’m afraid if I inched the speed up any higher I might’ve been down on the ground.

Conclusion:

Definitely not for beginners. Doable for intermediate and experienced runners. Speeds should be changed for the individual’s needs. I would take safety precautions (like hooking the emergency stop magnet to your clothes) before starting. Routine was quick and enjoyable; the small increments staved off boredom because I was constantly thinking of what I’d be doing next or concentrating on what my body was doing. Awesome sprinting workout. Not hellishly difficult but definitely not easy.

Other Treadmill Routines:

Want a treadmill routine but don’t want to run? Walk in this Sidewinder workout!

*DISCLAIMER: I will not be held responsible for any injury that might occur during this or any other exercise/routine that I mention in my blog. You should always consult your doctor before trying any new exercise/routine. Always listen to your body so you know when to stop and how hard to push yourself. Consider meeting with a personal trainer if you want personalized help with your fitness endeavors or possibly try a group fitness class – there are numerous different kinds of classes out there and can be rather enjoyable.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on November 7, 2013, in Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

