Treadmill Workouts – Sidewinder

I’m not bored with my treadmill routines but I always enjoy trying new things and I found some new routines on Self.com. The article was written by Amanda Macmillan and is entitled “10 Boredom-Busting Treadmill Workouts.” I’ve decided I’ll try each of them and give a review on how I like them and what I think of them.

10 Treadmill Routines:

  1. Get-Back-On-Track
  2. Sidewinder
  3. Speed-Endurance
  4. Pressed-for-Time
  5. 5-4-3-2-1
  6. Sprint/Interval
  7. Never-a-Flat-Moment
  8. Sprint-Ladder
  9. Around-the-World
  10. Gauntlet

I should probably start with the first one but it’s too similar to my usual routines (minus the walking part) to be interesting right now so I’ll try the Sidewinder which was created by Katina Brock, a personal trainer at the Biggest Loser Resort and fitness advisor for Motility Training, a mobile fitness app. It’s a walker. Here it is:

  • 5-min warm-up (gradually increase speed from 2.4-3.5mph)
  • 2-min sideways walking – 2.2mph (1-min left, 1-min right)
  • 2-min sideways walking – 2.4mph (1-min left, 1-min right)
  • 1-min forward walking – 4.5mph
  • 1-min forward walking – 3.5mph
  • 2-min sideways walking – 2.6mph (1-min left, 1-min right)
  • 2-min sideways walking – 2.8mph (1-min left, 1-min right)
  • 1-min forward walking – 4.2mph
  • 1-min forward walking – 3.5mph
  • 2-min sideways walking – 2mph 5% incline (1-min left, 1-min right)
  • 5-min cooldown (gradually decrease speed from 3-1.8mph)

With all the sideways walking done it’s pretty obvious that this routine focuses on your hips. There’s a note toward the bottom of the page on the website that says,

While walking sideways, use a light touch on the rails for stability but do not support with arms. Keep feet pointed to the side of the treadmill, not forward. You can shuffle feet together and apart or, at slower speeds, cross one foot behind or in front of the other.

That’s all well and good for people who have excellent muscle control, coordination, and balance but the rest of us are going to need to hold on to that rail a little more than a mere “light touch” if we don’t want to end up flat on our face. I had to hold on to the rails with both hands and was quite often fighting not to almost fully support myself. It was difficult not to lean into whatever arm was closest to the front of the machine because my legs are definitely not used to the ground moving beneath them in a sideways manner. I learned today that I have near 0 coordination as I had to seriously concentrate on my feet so I didn’t trip. I tripped a few times anyway but luckily I was holding onto the rails so all was fine.

I thought the speeds would be too slow – that was not the case. The warm-up and cooldown drifted into super slow speeds that brought my heartrate dooooooown…which is really boring on a treadmill. However, this also allowed me to start grooving to my iPod so I managed to keep myself entertained. On the higher sideways speeds I found I could get a little core work in there by keeping my core engaged and twisting while I crossed my feet in front and behind each other. This, however, took some work away from my hips as I had to point my toes forward during half of the twists. It gave me more coordination and balance though with the faster footwork so I was able to let go of one rail and not lean on the other.

The incline I kept to 1% the whole way through except for when it said to raise the incline to 5% on the last 2-min bout of sideways walking.

Conclusion:

If you’re coordinated and strong, this will be a good workout for your hips. If you’re not very coordinated or have poor balance, this could very well be a challenging routine. I think I’m average with coordination and pretty good with balance but I never managed to perform well enough to let go of the rail. My heartrate got up to the 130s but it quickly lowered back to a resting heartrate. I certainly was panting but that’s because my hips aren’t used to so much focus.

People with poor coordination/balance – I’d recommend this routine ONLY if the speeds were greatly reduced and the rails held onto for support.

*DISCLAIMER: I will not be held responsible for any injuries sustained while performing this routine. The routine was created by Katina Brock – I’m only trying it for fun to see what it’s like. You can find this routine and more at Self.com. Always consult your doctor before trying any new exercise or routine and always listen to your body. If it’s telling you to stop, then stop. It’s okay to go at your own pace. Don’t push yourself into an injury. Consider seeing a personal trainer for individualized help if you need/want it or try a group fitness class – they’re varied and can be highly enjoyable.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on November 6, 2013, in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

