Success!

I did it! After weeks of studying and months of the teacher postponing the class, I finally took my Foundations class to become a group fitness instructor! And I passed! Most of the questions I got wrong were because I second-guessed myself or forgot the technical jargon. I don’t believe telling the participants in class that the next move will work our iliopsoas will make any impact on them whatsoever. If loud music wasn’t playing in class I’d probably hear crickets chirping.

Or maybe the crickets would be silent as well.

Probably telling people that we’ll do some knee raises would be a more successful route.

By the way, basically the iliopsoas is the strongest muscle of the hip flexors. It’s located along the top of the thigh where it meets the torso. So where your leg bends at the hip when you raise your leg. Don’t ask for more information because I don’t have it memorized. You can see more information at wikipedia.

Anyway, I had a solid B because of those jargon questions or because I second-guessed myself. I got to look over the corrected test afterwards and I’m pretty sure I will not make those mistakes again. Nor will I use technical words in class. Best to stick with normal speech when I’m about ready to die from nervousness and counting in the middle of class. I have a difficult enough time speaking as it is without having to remember words like anterior and posterior. No thank you.

When I was in college I was never good at the technical portion of classes. It was always the labs I excelled in. Let me get in and do it and I’ll show you I’m capable, but test me on technical stuff and I’ll probably look like a moron.

Anyway, the next step is to teach a demo class to prove that I’m ready to teach real classes. I’ve been practicing and preparing for, literally, a year to do this. The class was supposed to be back in February of 2013 but the teacher was too busy and too busy and too busy. Just as well. I had plenty of time to develop confidence in myself and reform my body with exercise and diet. I believe now that I’m ready to do this whereas I seriously lacked in self-confidence and body image before.

I have about 6-8 different routines that I can choose from that I created early in the year but I think only 3 of them would be good enough to do. I’ll try all 3 and see which one best fits me for the current purpose. Then I’ll use this week to practice it so I know it well enough by heart to do the demo. I’ll make the appt asap so I can get it in sooner rather than later. It’ll probably take Hillary at least a week (I assume) to work it into her schedule. And I’m sure Kelly will have to be there too considering it’s her class I’m demo-ing. She’s been training me to be her sub. Woo!

Am I a certified instructor now? I think so but I haven’t done the demo yet so maybe not. I’ll hold off on saying I’m certified until after the demo is done. Then there’s nothing holding me back!!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on November 3, 2013, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

