Banana Rice Cakes

Here’s my favorite snack recipe that actually works nicely for my breakfast as well. This recipe is gluten-free, non-dairy, soy-free. Whatever else free it is, I don’t know. Maybe free of all allergens. Definitely free of eggs. Check the labels to make sure.

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 plain salted rice cakes
  • maple almond butter

Smear the almond butter on the rice cakes then slice up the banana and add that on top. Voila! Very simple and nutritious.

I stick with plain rice cakes that have been lightly salted because they’re gluten-free and non-dairy as per my dietary needs. I don’t mind plain almond butter. It can be super yummy as well depending on the brand you get. My brands of choice is MaraNatha and Open Nature. For me, the plain almond butter from Open Nature is tastier than MaraNatha but I hear it’s usually more expensive. I must’ve gotten it when it was on sale. My maple almond butter is from MaraNatha and is super good. The maple flavor does not come from maple syrup so the sugar content isn’t as high as you’d think. It comes from maple sugar.

I find this recipe very filling either for a snack or for breakfast. Although perhaps for people with better diets than mine would find one rice cake sufficient for their appetite. If that’s the case, slice up part of the banana for the one rice cake and eat the rest on its own. Actually, that fills me up very nicely as a snack too.

Or, of course, you can leave the rest of the banana for another time. I got this recipe from a friend of mine who teaches Zumba. I was hard up for healthy snacks and needed new suggestions so she told me about this recipe that she uses for a snack. I loved it and months later still am not tired of it!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 20, 2013, in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

