Breakfast Smoothie

I’m not a nutritionist and I know very little about correct nutrition. I eat the types of things I’m advised to eat and I substitute foods particular to my dietary needs. I’m not a picky eater – I’ll eat almost anything that’s put in front of me. That is, I used to do so. Now, however, my body has changed with the last 15lbs I’ve lost and I can no longer tolerate gluten or dairy products. In the attempt to lose more weight, I decreased my sugar intake so much and for so long that I can no longer handle sugar the way I used to either.

Some people may think this is a bad thing but I can only say that I’ve gotten used to it and have found that gluten-free and non-dairy food can be just as yummy if not yummier in some cases. Here’s one recipe I found that not only caters to my dietary needs but is also a very healthy meal to have for breakfast.

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2c – 1c strawberries
  • 1-2 handful fresh spinach (probably 1-2c)
  • protein powder
  • 1c unsweetened almond milk

Add ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. Pour in a glass, drink, and enjoy! The amount of protein powder differs with each kind of powder and on your own taste of how much you want added. I use a chocolate soy protein powder. It recommends adding 1 scoop (comes with own scoop) to 8oz of milk but then says 1 serving size is 3 tbsp of powder. The scoop is about a tbsp I think though I’ve never measured it. I add about 1-2 scoops because my drink usually comes out to almost 2c.

Also, peaches are a really good substitute for strawberries. Blackberries too. Those are my fruits of choice but any desired fruit can be used in place.

I’m probably going to be changing this recipe soon because my body is telling me that I need to tone down on sugar yet again. I’ll probably limit the amount of strawberries/peaches to 1/2c. Lately I’m feeling sick in the mornings after breakfast. No, I’m not pregnant. It’s my body’s reaction to too much sugar. Dehydration and then sugar on an empty stomach can do wonders.

In the words of Mort from Madagascar 3, “My tummy is speaking to me!” And then he throws up pink frosting. Very gross. My son and I love that scene. In fact that’s what happens to me when I eat more dairy and sugar than I should (ex: 1-2 cookies). I have paid the price on multiple occasions.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 15, 2013, in Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

