Oct Challenge: Week 2

WEEK 2:

I’ll be completely honest: I was a slacker this week. Well, in a way I might be termed lazy this last week. Except I wasn’t…at all. Just with the October Challenge. Why? Because, although I was very good Monday with my planks, I only did one set Wednesday and none at all Friday. And Rowing was thrown out the window entirely.

Does this mean I failed this week? Not at all. Here is my schedule as proof that in no way did I fail or slack off with my exercise:

Monday:

  • 5 Powerful Planks: 2sets
  • Circuit Fusion Class: 35min
  • Stretch: 5min

Tuesday:

  • Rowing: 10min 1.2mi
  • Run: 9:53min 1mi
  • Walk: 17.13min 1mi
  • Stretch: 6min

Wednesday:

  • Circuit Fusion: 30min
  • 5 Powerful Planks: 1set
  • Stretch: 5min

Thursday:

  • Run: 15min 1.25mi (hill program lvl 5)
  • Stretch: 5min

Friday I spent cleaning the house for company. Then I did some social exercise. I’m not anti-social – I love hanging out with friends. However, I’m introverted and being in company is one of the most exhausting things I’ve ever had to experience (other than studying). I had more energy after running my first 10k some weeks ago than I did after spending 1-2 hours with my friend on Friday.

Now why didn’t I do the rowing/strengthening on Tu, Th? Because the circuit fusion class works the entire body and my muscles desperately needed a break from strengthening exercises. Why not do the rowing? I was bored and wanted to run. Tu I wanted to see if I could beat my mile PR…I couldn’t. But not from lack of trying! Wanted to throw up the last minute of running but pushed through it and still made it under 10min. Woo! I’ve achieved that “elusive 10-minute mile” from Rose and the Slipper. On Th I was more interested in running than rowing.

I wanted to run hills rather than row so I did. It’s as simple as that.

If you’re challenging yourself to do something but you’d rather do something else that works just as well after awhile, don’t feel obliged to continue.

After finishing a race that I’ve trained a long time for, I like to change things up so I started the Oct Challenge. I didn’t count on it colliding with my Circuit Fusion class which I quite enjoy doing for both the social interactions and the physical challenge it provides me. After a little while of not running though, I got bored. Then we accidentally visited a favorite park right during the town’s marathon and half-marathon. My son was super excited and ran through what was supposed to be our walk. It was fun for me too though and I found myself envying the runners because it’s a course I’ve wanted to do for awhile now. I wasn’t fit enough before to do it but I have the potential to be now so I was eager to start running again. But where did that leave the rowing part of my challenge?

Alterations:

Dumping the Rowing/Strengthening on Tu, Th. Replacing it with running. There will be hills, tempos, intervals, etc. Whatever i’m interested in doing when I get on the treadmill. I can run 3mi 3x a week but I don’t. In order to start the half-marathon training in summer, I should be running that much every week so I’m going to try to make it a habit. I’m going to keep it to twice a week for awhile and then increase it as I see fit later in the winter or spring.

Plank Improvements:

1st Day 1st Week: Extreme fatigue, resting often, 2 sets 10min each, mostly modified on knees, couldn’t do more than 2 sets, extreme soreness next day

1st Day 2nd Week: Mild fatigue, resting a few times, 2 sets 6.30min and 7min, mostly on toes, wrist pain prevented 3rd set, mild soreness next day

  • Wrist Pain – not an ache put an actual pain from the pressure of putting my weight on the joint for so long. I’m not sure if this is something I can fix with strengthening exercises. I know there are wrist/forearm strengthening exercises but I don’t know if they’d do anything for this particular issue. I’ll ask around but I think it may just be something that’s unique to people.

*IMPORTANT NOTE: As always, consult your doctor before starting any new exercise. Listen to your body and modify everything you do based on what it tells you. The exercises I do may not be a good fit for you so I would highly recommend considering a certified personal trainer when creating an exercise plan for yourself. If you crave social interactions with your exercise, consider going to a group fitness class. If you don’t like something, look for something else.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 13, 2013, in Monthly Challenge, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

