Covering Butt

It’s been brought to my attention that I could perhaps be setting myself up for a law suit with this blog by showing and explaining exercises etc despite not being certified as a group fitness instructor or a personal trainer. The same goes for nutrition stuff though I haven’t written about food yet. So I’ve gone through my old posts and added a disclaimer that I believe should cover my butt and I’ll continue adding it forevermore.

But I want people to know that, though I’m currently undergoing training to be a group fitness instructor, I am NOT qualified to teach or train others. I am NOT a personal trainer. I am NOT a group fitness instructor. I do NOT have qualified in depth knowledge of the machines in any gym.

I’m not saying people should do everything I do when it comes to exercise or nutrition. I’m merely inviting people to try things with me if they want. If someone wants to try something I mention, good for them.

*IMPORTANT NOTE TO ALWAYS REMEMBER: Always consult your doctor before you do any new exercise. Always listen to your body and modify what needs modification or stop entirely if that’s what your body is telling you. If you feel pain, stop. If you feel sick, stop. If you’re not having fun, stop.*

I think to cover my butt even more, I’m going to refrain from suggesting any moves or routines to people until I am completely certified. Any exercises/routines that I post until then will be things I’ve done personally. I will not suggest that you do them. I will merely be stating what I did and how I did it. Hopefully this protects me from any liabilities.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 8, 2013, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

