October Challenge: Week 1

Week 1:

5 Powerful Planks Routine:

Before this week was over I realized I’d need to modify the planks. There’s no shame in this; my core just isn’t strong enough to do it all. I have no doubt that, by the end of the month, I’ll be able to do much more.

*Modify what you need to modify. Stop when you need to stop. Listen to your body and work up to it all. Baby steps. Life is all about baby steps.*

Modified Plank: 

Modified Plank


Modified Side Plank

It came to my attention while doing these moves that other people might have my “problem” with a too-weak core. If you find you can’t stay on your feet in plank position, switch to your knees. Switch back to your feet when you’re ready or remain on your knees as long as you want. This is a modified plank and can be used in place of the side plank as well.

Child’s Pose: 

Child’s Pose

To stretch and rest your shoulders, my go-to move is Child’s Pose from Yoga. With your legs bent underneath you and your face toward the floor, stretch your arms above your head on the floor.

Rowing/Strengthening Routine:

I’m glad I decided to stick in this routine every other day. The description of this plank routine says it gives an all-over body workout. This is true insofar as it works part of the upper body, the core and part of the lower body. So, yes, it does work “all over” your body, but it doesn’t give a truly full-body workout. The strengthening portion of the rowing routine will cover some of the other parts of the body that the plank routine misses such as the thighs and biceps.

*DISCLAIMER: I am NOT a certified professional. I will NOT be held responsible if injury occurs while trying any exercise, stretch, or routine that I post here. I am currently undergoing training to be a fitness group instructor. Always consult your doctor before trying any new exercise.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 6, 2013, in Fitness, Monthly Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

