Body Comp

Checking your body composition isn’t the same as checking your body fat although both are shown as percentages. Here’s where my lack of qualification as a fitness professional comes into play – I have no idea what the difference is or how body fat is checked. All I know is what is checked for body comp in the Jackson Pollock method. I also have no idea how to use the calipers. My go-to professional is Kelly Weatherman who works at my local Y. You can get your body comp checked with some kind of electronic blah blah blah but it requires fasting and showering etc planning beforehand and I just don’t have time or inclination to make sure I haven’t eaten or drank water within a certain amount of time before doing this. I don’t even remember how the shower comes into play but I remember it did when I looked up the info at the Y last Spring.

Forget that. The Jackson Pollock method of checking the skin fold in three spots on the body with calipers seems to be the most accurate method. It’s all done on the right side of the body while the person is standing with their weight equally distributed and arms hanging at sides. The tricep, belly, and thigh are checked three times each with the average number used. I’m not going to put the equation used to determine the percentage here because different sites list it differently. Daniel, at the Y, set up the whole process on the ActivTrax site that they use so we didn’t do it by hand or by any other site this time. I can’t guarantee result-consistency if I suggested any particular equation or site. So if you’re interested in getting your body comp checked, you can go to your local gym or maybe to your doctor and have a trained professional check it for you.

My Results!

4 months ago – 28%

NOW – 25.58%

GOAL: 24%

I didn’t believe I had made so much progress when I hadn’t seen much progress in my measuring tape results so Kelly checked me with a measuring tape too.

My Measurements!

Bicep: 11.78 in

Chest: 38.78 in

Waist: 30 in

Hips: 38.5 in

Thighs: 23.5 in

Calf: 15.5 in

Holy Guacamole, Batman!!!

Chest, Waist, and Hips have really gone down! I’ll have to check with old measurements later at home to see how much but I know they’ve gone down. My calves aren’t losing size but the fat is being replaced by lots of muscle. Even I can see that. Arms almost never change in size but the muscle is much bigger than before.

Body comp should be checked about every 3 months. So my next check-in time will be…next year! Cool. Tape measurements should be checked once a month. Weight should be checked once a week. By the way, my weight has stabilized at 165lbs. Yay for me! 5lbs left to reach my main goal!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 3, 2013, in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

