Day 3 Update

Day 1:

I wasn’t able to do all 3 sets of the 5 Powerful Planks. I didn’t foresee the strain on my shoulders and my shoulders are not the strongest. But, what a lot of people don’t realize, is that doing 10min of exercise at 2 separate times during the day gives the awesome benefits as well. One set took me 10min so I did one set in the morning and then another in the afternoon. It was super hard while I was doing it but about 2 seconds after I was done I felt completely fine.

Here’s where others can learn from my mistake:

I felt fine after each set and decided to stop after just 2 because I was lazy and waited too long in the day to do the last set. I’m a morning exerciser, not an evening exerciser. If I wait till the night, it’s not going to get done. Even waiting till the afternoon makes it a little iffy.

Because I wasn’t sweaty, didn’t ache and wasn’t tired after each set, I thought I wasn’t getting a very good workout and consequently forgot to stretch.

Can anyone tell me what my mistake was?

Please learn from my stupidity and stretch even if you feel like you haven’t gotten a good enough workout. Maybe your body is deceiving you like mine deceived me.

Day 2:

As my husband would say:

Oh! My! Holy! Cow!

My obliques felt as if someone had attacked them with a baseball bat. And my shoulders did more than scream in protest. I felt like I had given my 35lb son a shoulder ride the entire day and this was my price to pay.

I no longer feel like I was being lazy not doing that third set of planks on Day 1. Unless you have washboard abs, I have a feeling 2 sets is plenty for most people. Don’t put yourself down if you only manage 1 set even. One set is still 10min and 10min is a respectable amount of core time.

Problem: Does anything else on me ache like it’s been worked? No. hmmm…

However, there’s the Rowing/Strengthening routine scheduled for Day 2 so that should get lots of legs and arms in.

The 8 and 10lb weights were being used and 12lb is too heavy for my shoulders and knees so I went with a pair of 7lb dumbbells. My logic: I’ll test out the moves and weights today and upgrade as I see fit the next time. Yeah, after awhile of rowing (and the planks from the previous day), my legs and butt were protesting. My butt in particular from that leg-lifting plank. But I did the whole thing. It’s a very doable routine and moves quickly simply because you’re constantly changing what you’re doing. By the end I was glad I had 7lb dumbbells instead of even 8lbs because I was seriously feeling the shoulder press. My arms/shoulders were very tired.

Did I stretch? You bet your butt I did!!!

Day 3:

Now for today. My shoulders/core/butt/thighs ache but nothing hurts as badly as it did yesterday. I’m going to stick with 2 sets of planks instead of 3 mainly because I know 2 is plenty for me. Here’s where I want to shoot myself: I’m not dropping any of my usual exercise schedule for this challenge. So not only do I have 2 sets of planks to do today, I also have Kelly’s Circuit Fusion class to do.

Circuit Fusion: Mixes cardio and full-body strength-training to get a maximum amount of calorie burn. And when I say “full-body” I mean “FULL-body.” Kelly is a stickler for getting as many muscle groups worked in one class as possible. So after my planks are done, I’ll probably get more with her or at least 5min of some other core exercises.

It’s doable. It’s all doable. The problem is going to be tomorrow when I wake up…

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on October 2, 2013, in Fitness, Monthly Challenge, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

