Motivation found!

I was a bit worried last night that I, despite saying I’d find something to motivate me to exercise again and then share it with everyone, wouldn’t have anything to share today. But I woke up this morning and told myself that, after dropping my son off at preschool, I’d go to the gym and do a light workout.

Confession:

For the last 4-5 days I had diarrhea. Yucky. I know. You’re thinking, “Why on earth is she sharing this??” Just wait. So every time I ate something, I’d have to run to the toilet about 10-20 minutes later. Healthy, not healthy – it didn’t matter. By Sunday I was all for never eating a single bite of food for the rest of my life. I ended up skipping breakfast because I just wasn’t hungry nor was I in the mood to be a poop cannon at Starbucks. By Monday things were settling down and I checked my weight like I do at the start of every week.

Holy Guacamole! I had lost 4lbs!!! That’s what dehydration and minimal food for 4 days will do to a person. But I thought, “Hey! That’s cool! It sucks having to go through it and I wouldn’t want to do it again, but at least I got something out of it.”

Then I checked my weight again today just for the fun of it. Gained .8lbs already.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!

And that’s what no exercise but increased eating without immediately missiling it out will do to a person.

Motivation:

I just went through 4 days of discomfort and food-hating (and at 12:45am one night there was some life-hating going on too) and came out with a consolation prize of my lowest weight yet. I’ll be damned if I’m going to sit around and gain it all back without a fight!

So I may have skimped on the cardio today and gone with only a warm-up but I worked my ass off (literally with those lunges and squats) on strength training. My arms are tired. Abs too. Hips too.

Routine:

Since I’m training to be a group fitness instructor, I practice making my own class routines. The main class I’m training for is a Circuit Fusion class that combines strength training and cardio to get the most out of your 30 minutes. However, by cutting out the cardio, I think it works just as well for the Power Toning class at my gym too. So that’s what I did today.

2 differences: I replaced the warm-up with 5 minutes on the elliptical and I modified the core section because I was running out of time.

Each move was done for 1min. Moves like lunges were done 1min on each side. D=Dumbbell, B=Ball

  • Hold Sumo Squat and Raise Heels (D) 10lb
  • Forward Lunge w/Twist (B)
  • Chest Flys (D,B) 10lb
  • Chest Press (D,B) 10lb
  • Tricep Extension (D,B) 8lb
  • Hammer Curl w/Shoulder Press (D,B) 10lb
  • Single Leg Deadlift (D) 20lb
  • Walking Squat
  • Front and Lateral Raises (D) 6lb
  • Wall Squat w/Bicep Curl (D,B) 10lb
  • Side Lunge w/Knee Raise and Twist
  • Single Leg Calf Raise w/Knee Raise
  • Peeing Dog

Core: (30 sec each)

  • In & Outs
  • Modified Side Plank
  • In & Outs

I’ll probably go through most of these moves later and explain/show how I do them. If there are any specific requests, feel free to ask and I’ll get right on those.

I know, my core wasn’t nearly hard enough. But at least In & Outs work a lot of your core.

*DISCLAIMER: I am NOT a certified professional. I will NOT be held responsible if injury occurs while trying any exercise, stretch, or routine that I post here. I am currently undergoing training to be a fitness group instructor. Always consult your doctor before trying any new exercise.*

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 24, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

