SparkPeople motivates

Surfing through friends’ posts on Facebook the other day, I came across a picture from Sparkpeople.com.

Get Sparking!

http://www.sparkpeople.com

A quick note about SP: I’m a member of their site though I’m not currently active. SP is a great place to get tons of information about exercise, nutrition, and just plain healthy living. The site is free, the people (employees and members) are great, and the experience there helped me lost about 20lbs before my personal needs changed.

Although it’s an awesome site with wonderful people and brilliant trainers, it’s not a magical pill – you get out of it only so much as you put into it. So if you sign up but only surf the pages while sitting on your tush, you’ll probably gain a larger tush rather than a smaller one. I cannot stress how helpful the site is though so I recommend taking more than a peek at it. They’ve even been featured on several high-end magazines such as Self and People Magazine.

So the picture from SparkPeople had a T-Rex chasing a human. At the top it said Exercise while the caption at the bottom said Sometimes you need a little motivation. Lately that’s how I’ve felt.

For 2 months I was training 6 days a week for a 10k race. I finished the race about 2 weeks ago at my best time yet – 1:10:21! For about two days I was absolutely euphoric because the immensity of my progress hit me in the last 2 miles. In high school I couldn’t climb the short yet steep hill outside our house without stopping 2-3 times. Now I can run a whole 6.2 miles, hills and all, without stopping once.

And now? Pfft. I tweaked my knee a week before the race but I nursed it and made it through wtihout injury. I continued exercising the following week but this last Monday was the final straw. My knee hurt all this last week. Overuse injury. My other knee has the same problem. If I had iced it daily and kept it limber with light exercise it wouldn’t have been so stiff and painful but I was lazy working on my writing instead.

Sometimes you need a little motivation.

So find something to motivate you! Maybe it’s small – “If I reach this goal, I can buy those jeans I’ve been wanting for forever.” Or maybe it’s bigger – “If I reach this goal, I can take that vacation I’ve been promising myself.”

Maybe you really do need a hungry T-Rex chasing after you to get you to move you tush. I hope that’s not the case though because they’re extinct and you’d need a car to outrun them anyway which completely defeats the purpose.

Between now and next week when I update this blog I’ll try to find my own motivation to continue exercising and share it with you. Maybe it will help motivate you too. No dinosaurs needed.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 22, 2013, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

