Introduction to Kathryn St. John-Shin

Despite what some people *coughDanielcough* may believe, I am not a fitness freak. After spending my whole life overweight and obese, I merely enjoy getting/being healthy. And when I can help others do the same and see their quality of life and mood improve, it makes me happy.

Background:

To help people understand the changes I’ve made in my life, let me start off by saying I’m 31 years old and was overweight for pretty much my entire childhood and entered obesity toward the end of high school. While in university I bloated the dreaded Freshman 15 into 45lbs and ended up at my heaviest around 245lbs. I’m 5’10” and wasn’t fit at all so that’ll give you some idea of what I looked like.

Life went on as it usually does and my weight was like a yo-yo. I lost a ton, gained a lot, lost a few and gained a few. It never stopped. Then we moved to Wenatchee and got a membership at our local YMCA.

Turning Point:

Twas there I met Kelly Weatherman – personal trainer, group fitness instructor, sports nutritionalist, and all-around great friend. She turned my life around and helped me get down to 166lbs. No more yo-yoing! I’m healthy, fit and happier than I’ve ever been (when I’m not worrying about life’s normal little problems of course). And I’m training to become a group fitness instructor!

Have I reached my ultimate weight-loss and fitness goals? No, but I’m headed in the right direction and have learned to be happy with whom I am and how I look which is, ultimately, more important than a number.

DISCLAIMER:

  • I am NOT a fitness instructor or a personal trainer. I have not completed the qualifications for either of those professions though I am going through the process for the former. What I post here will be general healthy information geared toward general people.
  • I am also not a dietician though I know the basics of healthy eating. I will not be promoting specific diets because I do not believe in dieting. I believe in changing your daily eating habits. I don’t diet. I try to eat healthy. When I want to splurge, I do. Life is too short to deny yourself everything all the time.
  • Everyone should always consult their doctor before starting any kind of exercise program. This is especially important for people with special conditions such as heart conditions, injuries, diabetes, etc.
  • I will not be held responsible if you try one of the moves/routines I post here and get injured because of it.
  • I am not the beginning and end all of fitness or nutrition information. There are some things I believe to be fact that others do not believe.

I also have a writing blog covering my writing life and everything connected to that at http://www.katistjshin.wordpress.com

Enjoy!

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!

Posted on September 22, 2013, in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

